Preparing spaghetti squash

Preparing spaghetti squash in the microwave is really easy for quick weeknight dinner.  After washing thoroughly, pierce the skin in several places with a fork or knife (like you would before baking a potato).   Place it in a shallow glass baking dish.  Microwave uncovered 8-15 minutes depending on size.  (I’ve had good luck with 8-10 minutes on the squash we’ve received in the CSA.  Larger ones in the grocery store require additional time.)  Remove from the microwave and left stand for 5 minutes.  Press the surface – if it yields, it is ready.  Cut lengthwise, remove seeds with a spoon, and use a fork to shred the flesh of the squash.  Top with anything that you would normally put on spaghetti and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipes, Tips and Tricks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preparing spaghetti squash

  1. Melody Moore says:

    I like to cut my spaghetti squash in half and remove the seeds before microwaving. so I don’t have to work with the hot squash. It is a bit hard to cut, be careful! I then cover it with plastic wrap and microwave about 8 minutes for a Millsap squash. I will post a great recipe I got from Raleys Market in California.

  2. sarahkerner says:

    Thanks Melody! I moved your recipe to its own blog post – hope you don’t mind!

Comments are closed.